Book-Autobiography

I recently rescued this book from an overflowing book donation spot, it was threatening rain. Anyway, I’m still reading it, but decided to recommend it now anyway

It’s It doesn’t take a hero, the autobiography of H. Norman Schwartzkopf. 
It is a great book about a good man,  but it got me thinking. He went to the same places in Germany that I did, although I did it as an Army brat.
That’s what got me thinking. I have never enlisted myself, but I have a soft spot to those who did. I have posted a lot of anti-gov stuff on Facebook, but never anti- soldier.

2 thoughts on “Book-Autobiography

  1. Howard

    Howdy, Lori.
    I am having a bad night, sleep-wise, so I opened up FB and saw your post about this book and author.
    What I didn’t realize before now was the fact you grew up as an “Army brat” in your words and how you and the General both spent time in some of the same places while in Germany.
    I found this interesting mostly because I, too, have spent time in what used to be called the FRG, formerly called the Federal Republic of Germany.
    Twenty six months and a few days to be more specific.
    So since I haven’t read the book you acquired and learned of those mutually visted towns, I was curious which towns they actually were.
    Myself, I was stationed near a small town named Bayreuth, FRG, the pronunciation of which sounded like the middle Eastern city of Beriut, or “Bye-Roit” (roll your tongue on the letter “r.”)
    Actually, that was the nearest town and my Unit was stationed on a fair sized plateau above the town and known as Christiansen Barracks.
    I was told the location was a former Luftwaffe airbase and I had no doubt since there was (is?) a small airstrip within its confines and where our small assigned aviation unit of helicopters operated from. Now here is a funny aside: my memory doesn’t recall EVER seeing any aircraft, helicopter or otherwise, take off or land from there during my time there. But I digress.
    Truth be known I enjoyed the country, the small and large towns and the people. For the most part the local citizens got along fine with us American service personnel, but some older die-hard Germans WW2 veterans and Nazi regime supporters resented us in a BIG way, although to my knowledge there was never any overt hostility outside of giving us the ” Stink Eye!” Hahaha. I guess some older and thick headed memories die hard.
    In addition to Bayreuth, I’ve been to Bamberg, Nuremberg, Gelnhausen, all over the Tri-Zone area (where East and West Germany plus Chekoslavakia all come together, not too unlike the Four Corners of AZ/NV/CO and UT.
    I cannot begin to recall all the towns I visited, walked around in, purchased cool hand blown and cut glass things like bells and glasses, drank a lot (!!!) of great German beer, danced with a lot (!) of German Frauleins and generally had a splendid time there.
    Well this has gotten much longer than I expected it to, so in a nutshell, what are some of the towns you visited where your family were posted?
    Who’da Thunk this was going to be SOOO long all because I can’t sleep and I saw your post about some book and your comments about living there, too.
    Take care and I hope YOU are sleeping nice and cozy. At least one of us are right now. 🙂

    1. Mainz and Mannheim are two places my father was stationed, but I remember trips to a castle with a birdshow (raptors) and Busch’s Garden show and many other castle trips. I was too little for beer, but we went to Octoberfest with wonderful meats and cheeses and awesome crafts. Seeya soon.

Leave a Reply

